Last Mentor Meeting | Final Copy (?) for KYR

I have not done and interim week blogpost in a long while.

mentormeeting

Last night, Wednesday evening, was the last mentor meeting for New Urban Arts. It is surreal how fast time is flying. Emily went over the end of the year announcements and events (last day of programs is the 18th! with the Art Party on the 19th), and then we reflected on the past year in small groups. So much has happened this year, at NUA alone and in Providence, in America. The students have gone through a lot too, and we reflected upon the changes in the political/social climate and the changes that have been happening at NUA (two floors?!). Bittersweet to call this the end of my time mentoring at NUA, at least for now. I sincerely enjoyed it these past two years, and its not completely over yet! But it was nice to see all the artist mentors collectively again, and to be in that shared space with them. No need to get teary-eyed just yet.

I had my final day at the career center yesterday morning too. I requested for the rest of the month and my RISD career (haha) off. I have been feeling rather overwhelmed with everything happening at once so quickly, deadlines and good-byes. I need that extra time to just work and reflect, time for myself. Alan, of course, was completely supportive and understanding.

This morning, I woke up groggy-eyed and rushed over to DIIRI. Brandon and I went over the latest version of the KYR booklet. He and Susan, and Jessica (and DIIRI in general) have been very supportive and encouraging throughout this process. But I can sense Brandon wanting to push it forward and for the design to be finalized. Which I definitely agree with. I think its just a matter of fine-tuning at this point. I submitted the final copy (of the text) which I had edited with Cyrus and throughout this process, to Susan. Interesting to reflect on the role I had in being able to edit and adjust the copy, Brandon mentioned how he trusts my judgement and knows the documents been thoroughly looked at. In that sense, I feel like I had a great sense of control over the creation of the pamphlet from strategy, copy writing, and design. That only pressures me more to want to make it as effective as possible.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 8.56.17 PM

Brandon would like to have it by the 16th for the Sanctuary Cities – Providence panel discussion downtown with the Mayor and other representatives. He mentioned that we will be having it translated in Spanish, Creole, French? At the very least, I believe. The design of course will have to be flexible to additional word lengths and language structures. Just when you think the hard part is done!

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 8.56.34 PM

Susan also asked me to do some button designs for World Refugee Day in June. DIIRI is considering investing in a button maker to give out as collateral and for other uses such as events. I am excited to get started on them, she said the designs I have come up with thus far are “very cute” (in a good way), and Brandon likes the DIIRI logo made out of cut paper. I am still unsure if they chose my design for the postcard, however. Of course there will need to be B/W button designs too. Life of working at a nonprofit design-wise.

That’s about it. I feel exhausted from being up late last night. And this weekend there are many things planned, exciting things tho. And lots of work I need to catch up on for DP and my ISP showcase, and type in motion. Holding out on Huge and CUP, and verynice.

Tom never messaged me back about meeting this week, maybe the time frames I gave him weren’t wide enough. Regardless, I don’t know if I’d have much to show or the energy to have a meeting. We need to work on a written abstract, a/the presentation, the video promotion, and a process book. It’s asking for a lot in the final push. So I figured it would be good to either put a halt-on, or discontinue current projects and start working on the final wrap up and reflection. Can’t believe we are already at that point in the semester. Maybe this weekend I’ll make a longer reflective post about my mind-space regarding DP, less of a status update, but more of an actual introspection. I think that’d help.

Instead, you must worship Christ as Lord of your life. And if someone asks about your Christian hope, always be ready to explain it.
—1 Peter 3:15

God, I know and trust you have a plan for me, please be with me in these final weeks.

Leave a Reply

