Week 10—What.

Time is moving really fast and my brain can’t keep up. This past week was a blur. We had a guest critic, one of Tom’s previous students–Conrad, who gave a lot of insightful feedback on our works. We met in pairs, but my partner was absent. I even followed up with Conrad via email and he has been very supportive and great with responding with lots of insightful criticism and feedback. Especially on the KYR pamphlet. Some of the feedback I got last week:

–KYR edits (see below)
–”design an experience for the viewer” — not just passive
–bring people in, make it interactive
–relationship of time and visuals — play with time
–design for experience
–make the reading experience of the hope pamphlet more accessible and poetic
–conditioned experiences
–design the stimuli
–what does it become? exercise that leads into something (collab with DoYun)
–temporal in visual design
–dialogue with the patterns
–shift the experience of the conditions

It was a long and constructive critique with Tom and Conrad last week, and to be honest, I was exhausted after it. I took the next day off and went to Boston. I spent some time working, sending emails, and I attended the Future History AIGA talk with Doug Scott and Scott Stowell. Scott Stowell actually came and gave the same lecture at RISD this evening (May 1st), without Doug. I feel like the lecture in Boston was more insightful, (maybe because I was seeing it for the first time), and I enjoyed the Q&A with Doug and Scott. They spoke a lot about their perspectives on design and what it means for design to be a social activity. Especially after seeing Scott present again this evening, it has made me realize how much my experience at Open last summer has shaped my perspective on design and who I am, as a designer, today.

DS+SS
Doug Scott (center) and Scott Stowell (right) — FutureHistory AIGA Boston lecture

After DP on Tuesday, I had a phone call with Epsilon and was offered a full-time art director position. I will be touring the office tomorrow (and missing this week’s DP meeting, fortunately Tom is supportive and willing to meet with me later in the week). I also ran to attend Andrea’s thesis presentation at Brown. Her talk was really inspiring, and if she is able to condense months of research into one, 15-minute slide-show presentation so eloquently (and well-designed!) presentation, it gives me confidence and encouragement that everything will be okay for DP.

AndreaThesis
Andrea’s thesis presentation at Brown University

After Tuesday and Boston, I rushed back to PVD to get work done for Thursday’s DIIRI meeting. I presented the latest version of the KYR pamphlet and the branding to Brandon, Jessica, and Susan. They were all very encouraging and excited! Their feedback is always a lot more congratulatory than Tom or Cyrus’ (and sometimes I need that). Though I do feel their impending sense of need/immediacy that I feel like is being prolonged in the design process. Jessica mentioned that the tone should be “affirmative” and not stress or anxiety inducing. Which is helpful.

I have been shifting the design so much recently. I sent a new email to Conrad and then met with Cyrus this morning for my ISP and got his feedback on it too. I hope to shoot an email to Tom tomorrow. It’s hard because each person will see a different iteration that isn’t the same that I presented to someone the day before. I.e. Cyrus will see version A on Monday, then Tom will see version B, and then DIIRI will see version C, etc. But I am very fortunate and grateful to have people who are so invested in the project with me. The design has shifted a ton and it looks leaps and bounds better. And is changing every day. Here’s a sense of how many versions I’ve designed thus far (and this only abbreviates how many files there actually are!):

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 10.21.58 PM

Besides that, I’ve been making edits to the ‘hope‘ booklet. Despite the conversation I had with Alex (at Paperworks), Conrad and Tom both fell for the Mohawk paper. My fault for showing it. It’s expensive, but as Conrad and Tom both mentioned: more of an entry point and more evocative than the speckled paper. I am hoping to finish it up on the Amtrak tomorrow.

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 10.20.58 PM

On Friday, I had dinner with the Career Center staff and breakfast with Grace and Deborah. Time is flying so fast! I am needing to make time with the people I care about seeing/catching up with one last time. Saturday and Sunday were blurs of work and allergies. It’s officially spring! This past weekend I invested a lot of work in my ISP with Cyrus, but not as much work into DP. Though there is some overlap.

I spent a lot Thursday and the weekend organizing for my ISP showcase, which will be happening the same week as DP presentations. It will be on Monday, May 22nd (DP will be on the 25th). I am fortunate to have Emily Rye and Jane Androski from the Design Agency come as guest critics, along with Cyrus (and Lucy said she is interested and wants to make time to see it!). I am excited but overwhelmed.

I still need to edit DoYun’s photos and figure out how to synthesize that information, I sent another postcard to Ruth but am still awaiting her reply. I was very late in sending it to her last week. We soon need to document and figure out how to present the project for the final critique. Anina: I still need to go in and document the spoons. Hopefully I can arrange a time this week.

I am slightly bothered (and relieved) that I will be missing DP this week. Tom is meeting with the entire section briefly to discuss final wrap up in the coming weeks, and Paul sent an email sending the specifics for the video we need to create for the final showcase. It’s all happening so fast! I need to figure out how to synthesize and present all the work I’ve been doing.

Susan (DIIRI) sent an email requesting some button designs for World Refugee Day, I wonder if that means they went with my postcard design? And for the copy of the KYR pamphlet which keeps changing. I told her I’d hope to have it this Thursday.

Many things culminating at once! Time flying by. I can’t believe its May. We have our final NUA artist mentor meeting this Wednesday, and the semester is quickly coming to a close. I don’t know how it’s all going to get done. God be with me. Joanna and I met earlier this evening (9pm) to discuss pursuing baptism at the end of this month. She is feeling very convicted, and I hope to have encouraged her. She has such a heart for God and it is really inspiring to share our walks and friendship together. I am less convinced, but am hopeful. I know God has a plan, and I hope to pay close attention to it and to be attuned. I am excited and hopeful for the future He has in store.

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.
—Job 1:20–22

I finished Luke and John, and have decided to go back to reread the book of Job. Joanna really encouraged me saying she sees/hears the Holy Spirit speak through me whenever we meet and share about our walks to one-another. I am honored and touched to be able to share some of God’s love onto her, as she is such a beacon of light and hope in my life.

Pursuing work about my faith both for my ISP and my DP has been really challenging but exciting. The final showcase(s) will be testament as I have to publicly speak about how its influenced my work and how its integral to it and to my identity as a Christian.

Leave a Reply

