Week 9—pro9ress

This week I made some progress and had some meetings, shared some meals and good conversations with friends and made some lead-way on collaborations.

–Collab with DoYun (Social)
–Meeting with Anina (Social)
–Hope booklet (faith • hope • love) (Religious)
–DIIRI Update (Political) — progress
–Ruth collaboration (Social) — idea for final collaboration
^ me making notation of what I did this week in preparation for the blog post

Anina_notes

I met with Anina Major and shared a cup of tea and good conversation about her thesis and my degree project. We are both exploring the theme of Home, her in relation to her static definition, as the one place she grew up in, and me as a dynamic definition of something that is always changing. Home as a journey, as she described it. We had a good conversation and spoke about doing a collaboration with the ceramic spoons she had made. Funny how Haystack brought us together last year and now we are brought back together for this final culmination to our RISD careers.

KYR_progress

I am still making progress on KYR for Dorcas. I went to volunteer last Thursday, ready with the branding boards and new directions to show them, but neither of my bosses were there. After 2 hours of almost falling asleep, and then finally getting some work done, I left early. Cyrus is helping me refine the typography and it is making ways and means to become the best that it can. Cyrus mentioned how being a designer means you have to be a writer/editor/reader, and to shape language in a way that is visual and makes logical sense. I hope to have an even stronger version to show tomorrow.

CollabwithRuth

After small group crits last week, Ruth and I met to discuss our collaboration and the final form. We are going to do two more weeks of passing back and forth and then collaborate on a poster/documentation to present for the final critique.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 11.05.06 PMDo Yun and I took our photos based on the 25 objects we had gathered last Wednesday, and are in the process of editing the photos. After 5 hours of shooting, the editing process seems a lot smoother, though less tactile. We are considering a collaboration on some “design” form of the photos, i.e. a poster or some sort. But we shall see.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 11.03.31 PM

For my religious lens this week, I worked on making a hope pamphlet, incorporating short narratives from the bible on the topic of hope. I am also steering my ISP into works about religion and Christianity. I lost my prayer journal today, but I am hopeful I will find it.

A lot is happening right now and this blog post does not really do justice to all that is going on, but I only have 26 minutes until it is Tuesday. Lots happening, things moving in the right direction, I hope.

In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.
–John 14: 2–4

Oh! Also, I had birthday dinner with Aneudy at Mokban tonight. It was really fun catching up with him and making/spending that time. NUA was quiet today. The annual event was last Friday, I didn’t stay long.

Leave a Reply

