Week 4 Update – Snow Day!

Posting1
The only written response I’ve seen thus far: ‘Home, let me go home.’ 15 West

The response from the second posting was very sparse. Many people tore off the quotes tagged at the bottom, but not many people (except 1?) wrote filled in the blank. I am not sure what the third posting will be…the second wasn’t as ‘successful’ or insightful as the first. However, it prompted me to design a survey that would solicit more of a response from people directly.

Survey_Question_Fbook
Promotional social media I made and spread on facebook

If you have not already, please fill it out through this link: https://goo.gl/forms/riQnGxSRocFlVAMO2

I got over 100+ responses! I still need to figure out how to translate the answers and analyze the data collected. I think I might push this and the illustrations of the houses further for Unbound (RISD’s printed book fair in April).

Ruth and I started our collaboration! Back-and-forth memory prompted postcards. I just received her response to the first postcard I sent, today.

Ruth_Collab_02
Ruth’s first response

I made some progress on the posters describing the various directions of the Christian journey–prompted by my ISP advisor, Cyrus, I split the posters into four, one for each direction. I worked on the distance read this week and still need to decide and design/compose with more smaller text, and consider the 2 other reads (half-way, and close-up read). I am also deciding between dark-grey text on light-grey background, or light-grey text on dark-grey background. My illustration friends prefer the top row, and my GD friends suggested the bottom.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 10.41.08 PM
Thumbnails of the directions posters

Tomorrow (Tuesday) our usual DP meeting day, is a major snow storm day in Rhode Island. Our meeting was canceled. I have other small projects I am working on, including: progress on NUA UNO (hopefully launching next week with Mel and Kah), a mini illustrated zine on the houses I’ve lived in, second meeting with DIIRI this week (fortunately the Know Your Rights workshop tomorrow is reschedule, so hopefully I can make the new day/time), Sanctuary’s new Discipleship class meeting this Wednesday morning, I have some new forms and content to work with.

I had a nice conversation over lunch with Jenice about our time at RISD, RISD Homegroup, and our current projects. She left me with the followign bible verse as a word of prayer over her this week, I can resonate a lot with it too:

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.
Matthew 7:7-8, ESV

Leave a Reply

