Week 3 Feedback

*written 5 hours after DP Week 3 meeting in section*

jf_notes_02
notes from feedback in section

Recap of some feedback I received in section today – the presentation went well. I feel more confident in my direction and am excited about the work I am making. Tom and my peers had some great advice on making work that solicited a response and collected information from people, in addition to making work that is releasing information. Some statements I really found insightful from today’s feedback (roughly paraphrasing):

The more direct a message is, the less we [the audience/reader] feel like we can contribute. 

How can structures [established through layout, typography, etc.] and formal relationships establish meaning and push the visual language?

The dynamic sense of home/idea of overlapping homes

It is always exciting to see what my peers have been up to as well, and how their ideas are taking shape. I am hoping to be able to work with some of the people in my section – Ruth and I are thinking about doing a postcard series back and forth (her topic is untraditional narratives). Jane and Denise are both doing projects based on identity, which could overlap nicely with my topic as well.

One of the artists Jane referenced in her presentation, Do Ho Suh, is someone one of the graduate TA’s had shown me in DS2. His work is really interesting and I may research further into it for my ow DP.

Some additional notes from a conversation I had with Ruth during break:
Momentos from home – things you cary with you from home
Feelings and objects – memories and objects
Value of multiples vs. select few
How much of home do we carry with us?

That’s all for today. I just came up with a new posting design, prompting people to fill in the blank “Home, ________ home.” I hope it solicits a response from people, I am hesitant to attach a pen to the poster because of cost and graffiti issues. But there will be a tear off element. I hope to print and post them tomorrow.

Christ suffered for our sins once for all time. He never sinned, but he died for sinners to bring you safely home to God. He suffered physical death, but he was raised to life in the Spirit.
1 Peter 3:18, NLT

Leave a Reply

