Week 2 Reflection

written precisely two hours before Week 3 meeting

Week3_Blog
Slides for my week 3 presentation

I just finished writing out the notes for my presentation in section this week for my degree project–I am so amazed with how fast everything is going and how busy the semester already is. Juggling DP, job applications, sleep, and catching up with people (and sleep), has been a bit of a challenge.

However, I am enjoying my DP topic and the work I am making, even though the topic is still very broad.  Everything seems to be falling in to place–and it is exciting to have God lead and be so present in the work I am making. I am also enjoying working with many different types of people and sharing conversations and being inspired by other people’s experiences and insights. I have a lot to say–but also not.

Here’s a “brief” recap of where I am with my projects up-to-this-point:

Quick Exercises

wk3_blog_IMG_1080
*I’m not Amerian [sic], but I’m still home. This place isn’t just for Americans.

First posting was made last week–seemed to have a positive reception, of course some locations are more effective than others. There were some comments written on two of the postings about the connotations of ‘American’ and the song used–this is ‘Native’ land, not colonial land. It has made me think a lot about what it means to be American, and will feed a lot into my next posting.

wk3_blog_sketchbook-scan
Brainstorming on the term ‘American’

Made some quick origami explorations of language (Spanish and Japanese) through poetic form making.

WIP

Wk3_blog_DP_ChurchMap_030617jf
First draft of poster – overcomplicated and will be simplified

Making progress on the posters about the Christian journey–finding home, creating family. Funny how interconnected everything–grace of God. Serena helped a lot with refining the design, and Cyrus had a great idea of simplifying the poster and making it a series of four, one for each direction: upward, inward, outward, and together. I like that idea and will get to work on that.

I have my first interview/meeting with Dorcas tomorrow!

Collaborations
Mel, Kah and I had our first group meeting about NUA UNO, and we divi’ed up the roles and are getting it started! I am excited to see it unfold.

I met briefly with Emily to discuss collaboration at church on Sunday–hoping to meet with her in person to see the work and discuss further our ideas.

_

A lot going on! But it’s all exciting. Hopefully the feedback from the presentation and critique in section will be good today. Here back from me soon.

but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect, having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.
1 Peter 3:15–17, ESV

Leave a Reply

